The Trustees oversee the activities of the TDCA.

How the TDCA works


Trustees Meetings

Trustees meet by Zoom during the year and hold a face-to-face meeting on the Friday afternoon prior to the Annual Gathering during which an Annual General Meeting takes place. Agendas and minutes are distributed by email.

Wider Consulation

Support Group members are consulted on a range of issues that may arise and involved with the organisation of events, especially the Annual Gathering.

Special General Meetings

A first Special General Meeting by Zoom was held successfully in September 2022 when membership approval was required. Afterwards an 'Any Questions' session took place with pre-submitted questions being put to the Tristan da Cunha Administrator Jason Ivory. This enabled direct communications betweeen members across the world (eg USA, South Africa, Iceland, Switzerland, Netherlands, Ireland, UK) with Tristan da cunha for the first time. We aim to repeat this experiment in the future.

Trustees and Committee Members

Cindy Buxton, Barry Carter, Hazel Carter, John Cooper, Megan Elsmore, Mike Faulds,
Richard Grundy, Anna Hicks, Alison Hentley, Mike Hentley, Jim Kerr, Ian Mathieson,
Peter Millington, Aniket Sardana, Michael Swales.


  President Michael Swales  
  Vice Presidents
Sir Martin Holdgate CB
Lady Elizabeth Alton
  Co-Chair John Cooper
  Co-Chair and Newsletter Editor Richard Grundy
  Secretary and Treasurer: Jim Kerr
  Meetings Secretary Barry Carter  
  Webmaster Peter Millington
  Website Editor Hazel Carter  

Support Group

Alan and Ann Ashworth, Debbie Elsmore, Elaine Mawer, Dawn Repetto, Clive Siddall and Tessa Smith.

Committee Meeting on 17th October 2015

Tristan da Cunha Association Committee meeting 17th October 2015

A Reception was held in honour of Nathan Swain winning the Junior Prize in the
Royal Commonwealth Society's 2015 Queen's Essay Competition.

Left to Right: Lorna Lavarello-Smith, Brian Frederick, Richard Grundy, John Cooper, Clive Elliott, Paula Swain, Ian Mathieson, Nathan Swain, Michael Swales, Mark Swain, Cindy Buxton, Mike Hentley and Keith Schurch.

See also more photos and report on RCS Essay Prize Trip.