The Chief Islander is a Tristanian elected separately from the Island Council, and serves for three years.

The current Chief Islander is James Glass

James was elected for a record fourth term in March 2019
and so becomes the first Chief Islander to serve four terms.

James Glass M.Sc is Tristan da Cunha's Director of Fisheries and makes regular trips overseas to oversee the retention of Tristan's valuable Marine Stewardship Council award for its sustainable Tristan Lobster Fishery.

One such trip will bring him to the UK in April 2019 and he will be guest of honour at the Tristan da Cunha Association's Annual Gathering held in Southampton on 27th April 2019.

James will also have meetings with Cefas colleagues preparing for Tristan's Blue Belt marine protection zone which is planned to be implemented in 2020.

Elected Chief Islanders:

Harold Green 1970-1973, 1979-1982 & 1985-1988
Albert Glass 1973-1979 & 1982-1985
Anne Green 1988-1991 & 2003-2007
Lewis Glass 1991-1994
James Glass 1994-1997, 1997-2000, 2000-2003,
Conrad Glass 2007-2010
Ian Lavarello 2010-2013, 2013-2016 & 2016-2019
The photo left shows James at the 2017 Worskhop
at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office
to develop Tristan's future Marine Conservation Policy under the UK's Blue Belt Programme.