The Governor of St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha is based in Jamestown, St Helena, with a Resident Administrator handling government matters on Tristan.

See also:

The role of the Governor

Tristan da Cunha is part of the UK Overseas Territory now known as St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha: one of the remaining former colonies which have not yet asked for independence, and wish specifically to retain their link with the United Kingdom. Britain, through the Territory's Governor (appointed by and representing HM The Queen), retains responsibility for external relations, internal security, defence and the Tristan public service. The Governor, who resides on St Helena, appoints a Tristan da Cunha Administrator to represent him on Tristan. Governors can now take part in Island Council Meetings by an internet link.

Nigel Phillips CBE

13-Aug-2022 -

Then Governor-Designate Nigel Phillips with his new Tristan tie alongside Tristan Government UK Representative Chris Carnegy at the FCDO during a Tristan briefing meeting on 15th July 2022.

Dr. Philip Rushbrook

11-May-2019 - 20-June-2022

Governor-Designate Rushbrook and his wife Janis meet Tristan Chief Islander James Glass and his wife Felicity at the Tristan da Cunha Annual Gathering held in Southampton on Saturday 27th April 2019.

Lisa Phillips / Honan

25-Apr-2016 - 04-May-2019

Photo shows Governor-Designate, Lisa Phillips, with Ernie Repetto on the occasion of his 90th birthday on 20th April 2016.

Mark Capes

29-Oct-2011 - 24-Mar-2016

Photo shows Governor Capes arriving at Tristan on 19th November and being welcomed by Tristan Island Councillor Gerald Repetto with Administrator Alex Mitham looking on.

Andrew Gurr

11-Nov-2007 - 23-Sep-2011

Photo shows Governor Gurr after presenting awards to Tristan island men including an MBE to Conrad Glass, Colonial Special Constabulary Medals to Lewis Glass and Lindsay Repetto and a Colonial Fire Brigades Long Service Medal to Stanley Swain during a viist to the island in February 2011.

Michael Clancy

15-Oct-2004 - 28-Oct-2007

Photo shows Chief Islander Anne Green presenting a model longboat to  Governor Clancy at a Commemorative Ceremony to mark the 500th Anniversary of the discovery of the island in February 2006.
Photo. from Philip Moors.

Governors 1958-2004

Period   Name
24-Jun-1999 - 29-Sep-2004 - David Hollamby
08-Sep-1995 - 07-May-1999 - David Smallman
17-May-1991 - 17-Apr-1995 - Alan Hoole
21-Apr-1988 - 16-Apr-1991 - Robert Stimson
03-Aug-1984 - 06-Apr-1988 - Francis Baker
10-Mar-1981 - 26-Apr-1984 - John Massingham
05-Dec-1976 - 05-Jan-1981 - Geoffrey Guy
01-Oct-1971 - 05-Nov-1976 - Thomas Oates
27-May-1968 - 26-Jun-1971 - Dermod Murphy
13-May-1962 - 25-May-1968 - John Field
26-Feb-1958 - 02-Mar-1962 - Robert Alford